This is the starting grid of the Brazilian GP

11/13/2022 at 18:07


Alonso, who had fallen to 18th place after his suspension, will start 17th due to the penalty to Tsunoda

Mercedes takes the front row with Russell and Hamilton ahead of the two Red Bulls and Sainz will start seventh

The sprint race held yesterday Saturday at the Interlagos circuit, with victory for George Russell, defined the order of the starting grid for the main race this Sunday (7:00 p.m.), although penalties must be taken into account, such as the one dragged Carlos Sainz and that will place him seventh from the start despite the fact that yesterday he managed to finish second on the podium, between Russell and Hamilton.

If the sanction to Sainz it was already known since Friday, those imposed on Fernando Alonso and Yuki Tsunoda have been later. The Asturian received 5 seconds of punishment after his incident with Ocon on the straight, before the subsequent contact with his partner at turn 4 and that ended up ruining the options of both. Fernando, who crossed the finish line in 15th position, dropped to 18th starting position as a result of the stewards’ decision, but today he has gained a position thanks to Tsunoda, who will start from the pit lane to make changes to his car under the pair fermé

This is the grid of the 2022 Brazilian GP after the sanctions:

1. George Russell (Mercedes)

2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

3. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

4. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

5. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

6. Lando Norris (McLaren)

7. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) *(P5)

8. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)

9. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)

10. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)

11. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)

12. Mick Schumacher (Haas)

13. Guanyu Zhou (Alfa Romeo)

14. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)

15. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)

16. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)

17. Fernando Alonso (Alpine) *(L)

18. Nicholas Latifi (Williams)

19. Alexander Albon (Williams)

20. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) *(P)

*Carlos Sainz has a five-position penalty for changing the combustion engine (ICE)

* Alonso was sanctioned with a 5-second penalty for his accident with Ocon in the sprint

* Yuki Tsunoda will start from the pitlane for making changes to his car under par fermé

This is the starting grid of the Brazilian GP