F1 Brazilian Grand Prix 2022 presentation and schedule

F1 begins its last two racing weeks of the 2022 season, with a penultimate round at Interlagos. The Carlos Pace circuit indeed hosts the Brazilian Grand Prix, the 21st race of the year.

Although there is no longer any sporting issue in terms of awarding titles, we can finally start a Grand Prix without the case of Red Bull’s budget ceiling being exceeded being the main subject of discussion.

We can thus hope for a weekend focused more on sport, but also more relaxed on the track, the stakes being lower. The Interlagos circuit could help this animation, as could the unstable weather in Brazil this season.

The plot in detail

Famous for its unpredictable weather, twisty, tight infield and ability to put on a jaw-dropping spectacle in title races, Interlagos is a legendary circuit on the F1 calendar.

Among the fifteen corners, the most famous are the first two whose name pays homage to the great Ayrton Senna. Competitors travel it counter-clockwise, dipping into the ‘S’ of Senna which leads to the Reta Oposta straight where DRS can be used.

The second sector is very rhythmic and technical before the track climbs up the hill to skirt a bustling grandstand.

Turn 1 – A difficult banked turn at the end of a long straight. Its topology makes it tricky, especially since the drivers do their biggest braking here: from 330 to just 110 km/h.

Turn 2 – It is important to get out of turn 1 well to maintain the rhythm in turn 2, the very fast turn 3 and finally the first zone of activation of the DRS.

Turn 4 – The first zone of DRS activation provides an overtaking opportunity before a fairly fast turn.

Turns 5/6/7 – These fast corners, especially Turn 6 and Turn 7, are a real test for the tires on the left side. This is followed by turn 8, which is slower. From turn 2 to the entrance to turn 6, the competitors accelerate for seventeen seconds and only touch the brakes at turn 4.

The MGU-K recovers energy in the braking zones, especially in this intermediate sector.

Turn 8 – The flat curbs in turns 8 and 10 leave enough freedom to find the best string in those slow turns.

Turn 12 – Crucial for a fast lap as exit speed conditions hill entry and pit straight. The internal combustion engine will be pushed to its limits with a 40 meter drop between the exit of Turn 12 and the braking point of Turn 1.

Pit straight – The second DRS activation zone extends 500 meters here to provide even more overtaking opportunities.

Forces present

Undefeated since the Singapore Grand Prix and winner of eight of the last nine races, Max Verstappen will obviously be the favorite for this Grand Prix. Winner in 2019, he was also very comfortable there in 2018 and 2021.

Last year, Lewis Hamilton was able to beat him thanks to a new engine and after a fierce battle between the two men, sometimes beyond the limit of reason. For the Mercedes F1 driver, contemplating victory will be almost impossible.

On the other hand, we could potentially see confirmation that Mercedes has returned to the level of Ferrari, or even slightly ahead. Behind, the battle between Alpine F1 and McLaren will continue to rage for fourth place in the championship.

Brazilian Grand Prix timetable

For the last time this season, F1 is heading to the Americas, with evening times for European spectators. They will however be less late than those of the GP of the United States and Mexico.

– Friday, November 11

4:30-5:30 p.m.: Free Practice 1

8:00-9:00 p.m.: Qualifying

– Saturday November 12

4:30-5:30 p.m.: Free practice 2

8:30-9:00 p.m.: Sprint

– Sunday November 13

7:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m.: Race

The winners of the Brazilian Grand Prix

Year Circuit Winner Crew Engine
2021 Interlagos Lewis Hamilton mercedes mercedes
2019 Interlagos Max Verstappen Red Bull Honda
2018 Interlagos Lewis Hamilton mercedes mercedes
2017 Interlagos Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Ferrari
2016 Interlagos Lewis Hamilton mercedes mercedes
2015 Interlagos Nico Rosberg mercedes mercedes
2014 Interlagos Nico Rosberg mercedes mercedes
2013 Interlagos Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Renault
2012 Interlagos Jenson Button McLaren mercedes
2011 Interlagos Mark Webber Red Bull Renault
2010 Interlagos Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Renault
2009 Interlagos Mark Webber Red Bull Renault
2008 Interlagos Felipe Massa Ferrari Ferrari
2007 Interlagos Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Ferrari
2006 Interlagos Felipe Massa Ferrari Ferrari
2005 Interlagos Juan Pablo Montoya McLaren mercedes
2004 Interlagos Juan Pablo Montoya williams BMW
2003 Interlagos Giancarlo Fisichella Jordan Ford
2002 Interlagos Michael Schumacher Ferrari Ferrari
2001 Interlagos David Coulthard McLaren mercedes
2000 Interlagos Michael Schumacher Ferrari Ferrari
1999 Interlagos Mika Hakkinen McLaren mercedes
1998 Interlagos Mika Hakkinen McLaren mercedes
1997 Interlagos Jacques Villeneuve williams Renault
1996 Interlagos Damon Hill williams Renault
1995 Interlagos Michael Schumacher benetton Renault
1994 Interlagos Michael Schumacher benetton Ford
1993 Interlagos Ayrton Senna McLaren Ford
1992 Interlagos Nigel Mansell williams Renault
1991 Interlagos Ayrton Senna McLaren Honda
1990 Interlagos Alain Prost Ferrari Ferrari
1989 Jacarepagua Nigel Mansell Ferrari Ferrari
1988 Jacarepagua Alain Prost McLaren Honda
1987 Jacarepagua Alain Prost McLaren TAG
1986 Jacarepagua Nelson Piquet williams Honda
1985 Jacarepagua Alain Prost McLaren TAG
1984 Jacarepagua Alain Prost McLaren TAG
1983 Jacarepagua Nelson Piquet Brabham BMW
1982 Jacarepagua Alain Prost Renault Renault
nineteen eighty one Jacarepagua Carlos Reutemann williams Ford
1980 Interlagos Rene Arnoux Renault Renault
1979 Interlagos Jacques Laffite ligier Ford
1978 Jacarepagua Carlos Reutemann Ferrari Ferrari
1977 Interlagos Carlos Reutemann Ferrari Ferrari
1976 Interlagos Niki Lauda Ferrari Ferrari
1975 Interlagos Jose Carlos Pace Brabham Ford
1974 Interlagos Emerson Fittipaldi McLaren Ford
1973 Interlagos Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus Ford

F1 Brazilian Grand Prix 2022 presentation and schedule