Brazil 2014: The most cursed end of the golden generation

11/14/2022 at 09:09


The Spanish team fell in the group stage and thus ended a golden age marked by the two European Championships in 2008 and 2012 and the 2010 World Cup

The then current champion did not reach the quarterfinals, like Italy in 2010 and Germany in 2018

Football, like life, is cyclical. “Everything is over & rdquor ;, they say. The bad, but also the good. And maybe it even takes a little less time and the time of enjoyment seems fleeting. The Spanish team fell in the group stage of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil and thus put an end to a golden age in which he won two European Championships (2008 and 2012) and the World Cup in 2010 that seemed endless.

the prelude

Spain came to the event as current champions thanks to the historic goal by Andrés Iniesta in the final in Johannesburg against the Netherlands. Perhaps the label of favorite was excessive, since the Red had been defeated in the final of the Confederations Cup against Brazil the previous year.

Thus, the Spanish team broke the streak of 29 matches in official competition without defeat. The silver was deserved and not easy to get, and the feelings before facing the World Cup were good. Nevertheless, Spain’s superiority was beginning to be questionable. Of course, few expected what was going to happen.

Two defeats and a triumph to save the honor

The group in which the Red was found was affordable. He went back to see the faces with the Netherlands, reinforced, but A priori, they had to comfortably beat Chile and Australia to, at least, pass as second. The start could not be worse. The selection fell defeated against his victim in the final of 2010 by 1-5 with braces of Van Persie Y Robben and a bit of By Vryj. The goal of honor was scored by Xabi Alonso from eleven meters. In the second game, the Spanish team was overtaken by Chile of sampaoli and lost 0-2 with goals from Vargas Y Aranguiz.

Thus, and in Maracana, Spain said goodbye to the World Cup. those of Forest said goodbye to Brazil with an inconsequential victory against Australia, by 0-3, thanks to goals from town, towers Y Bush. A triumph of honor to cover up the disappointment of an entire country. The best generation of players in Spain that had dazzled the world was fading. His marked identity had been diluted. and legends like towers, town, Xavi Hernandez either Xabi Alonso they did not play any more major tournaments with the national team.

The Champion’s Curse

Spain, in Brazil, followed in the footsteps of Italy, which, after winning the World Cup in 2006, did not reach the final phase in 2010. The current champion had fallen in the group stage, a curse that was repeated in the following edition: Germany, winner in 2014, did not go beyond the quarterfinals in Russia. We will see if France breaks this curse in Qatar.

The star: Andres Iniesta

He came from being the hero of Spain in the 2010 World Cup and from making some great performances with Barça. He shone much less at the 2014 World Cup, but he was one of the few players who passed in Brazil.

Beside Sergio Ramos Y Jordi Alba, was the footballer who played the most: he played all 90 minutes of the three group stage matches. They were also saved David Villa, Fernando Torres Y Xabi Alonso.

Coach: Vicente del Bosque

Despite falling in the group stage, the Spanish coach announced that he would continue on the bench and did so until after the 2016 European Championship, in which Spain was eliminated in the round of 16 against Italy.

The summons from Spain

  • Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), goalkeeper.
  • David De Gea (Manchester United), goalkeeper.
  • Pepe Reina (Bayern Munich), goalkeeper.
  • Raúl Albiol (Naples), defender.
  • Gerard Hammered (FC Barcelona), defender.
  • Javi Martínez (Bayern Munich), defender.
  • Juanfran Torres (Athletic), defender.
  • Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), defender.
  • Jordi Alba (FC Barcelona), defender.
  • Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), defender.
  • Andrés Iniesta (FC Barcelona), midfielder.
  • Xavi Hernández (FC Barcelona), midfielder.
  • Cesc Fabregas (FC Barcelona), midfielder.
  • Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), midfielder.
  • Sergio Busquets (FC Barcelona), midfielder.
  • Koke Resurrection (Atletico Madrid), midfielder.
  • Santi Cazorla (Arsenal), midfielder.
  • David Silva (Manchester City), midfielder.
  • David Villa (Atletico Madrid), forward.
  • Fernando Torres (Atletico Madrid), striker.
  • Pedro Rodríguez (FC Barcelona), striker.
  • Juan Mata (Manchester United), forward.
  • Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), forward.

The results

Group stage

  • Spain – Netherlands: 1-5
  • Spain – Chile: 0-2
  • Australia – Spain: 0-3

Brazil 2014: The most cursed end of the golden generation